Oh the Weather Outside is Frightful

Everyone knows that cold weather is notorious for spreading the unmotivated bug. The “I just want to lay in bed buried in blankets all day” feeling. In Memphis, we don’t get those days often but when we do, I get an intense craving for chili…& this is the one I make. I’m not sure it could get any more basic. I’m sure there are more complex versions with more ingredients out there but this is my take on it. The one that doesn’t take all day, since I’m buried under the covers for most of it.

Easy Peasy Chili

1 pound ground beef, spiced, cooked, & drained

1 & a half packages of McCormick Chili powder

1 can diced tomatoes (I typically use Mexican Rotel to add a little heat)

20 ounces of tomato sauce (I buy the 29 ounce can)

1/2 chopped onion

1 chopped green bell pepper

1 can light or dark red kidney beans, rinsed & drained

3 beef bouillon cubes

3 cups of water

First, gather your ingredients.

DSC_1163

Dice the onion & pepper and throw it into a pot with your ground chuck. Season with Lowry’s season salt.

DSC_1165

Simmer over medium heat until onion and pepper are just about cooked through, about 15 minutes. Drain.

DSC_1170

Add the remaining ingredients to the pot, stir, and simmer until flavors combine, about 30-45 minutes.

DSC_1173

Again, with the food that isn’t very photogenic. What’s that all about?

DSC_1177

It looks a bit better when you serve it up! Eat up & stay warm!

P.S- the recipe I’ve provided will feed about 4. If you’re having people over for dinner or you’ve got a super sized family, you’ll want to double the recipe, as I sometimes do. 🙂

-Mrs. B

This entry was posted in Soup, Chili & Stew Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment