A “Skinny Girl’s” Sweet Tooth

This one got raves last night even from my toddler (who is definitely my toughest critic by far). The best part about it, is that it is a SUPER easy and very forgiving recipe.

Cinnamon Baked Sweet Potato & Apples

1 very large (or 2 medium sized) sweet potatoes, peeled into bite sized pieces

2 Fuji apples, cored, peeled, & cut into bite size pieces

3 tablespoons of light butter or spread

3 tablespoons of brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, or more to taste

1/4 teaspoon salt

dash of nutmeg

4 tablespoons of craisins

Gather your ingredients first, as we always do!

dsc_03691

Peel, core, and dice your fruit & veggie.

edited-potato

Next, you need to find yourself a cookie sheet and some heavy duty aluminum foil. Place one piece of the foil on the cookie sheet to cover it. Grease it up with some non-stick cooking spray. Then sprinkle your fruit & veggie pieces out on the foil. Top with your craisins. Slice the butter into thin pats & place them on top. Sprinkle the brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, & nutmeg to finish. It looks delicious already!

dsc_0373

Take a second piece of foil, lay it over the top and make sure the edges all the way around are sealed.

dsc_0374

Bake it for 30-35 minutes or until the potato & apples are tender. Note that while it bakes, the apples will release a little juice so be careful taking it out of the oven, in case some of it seeps out!

dsc_0375

YUM! This stuff smells and looks amazing!….& it tastes even better. Its good for a light side that conquers that sweet tooth. The craizins is a crucial ingredient here for me too. The sourness of them balance out the sweetness of the rest of it. Simply delicious. This is also considered a “Skinny” recipe too. It makes 4 side servings.

I paired this side with something I call “smothered chicken” & “something chicken” that I made with chicken thighs marinated in “Mr. Yoshida” (i cook with this A LOT). You can find it at Costco.

For the smothered chicken (for my husband, an onion enthusiast), I sauteed some onions & baby bella mushrooms in olive oil and fresh garlic to cover the chicken, & topped them with a slice of provolone.

For my “something chicken”, I topped my chicken breast with a little barbecue sauce, thinly sliced honey ham, and colby & monterey jack cheese blend. Fantastic! Note that I usually let my chicken bake for about 18 minutes before putting the veggies & cheese on top so it stays nice & gooey.

dsc_0377

I mean, really, does that not look absolutely delicious?! Hope you enjoy! **& i know that sweet vegetables for some people is quite an oddity that they don’t prefer but try it; you might surprise yourself!

-Mrs. B

This entry was posted in Side Dish Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A “Skinny Girl’s” Sweet Tooth

  1. Looks so good. I will make it all. Love new recipes.

Leave a comment