Quick Chicken

My back is aching. I don’t want to stand over the stove but I need to feed my hubby’s brain (who is taking a very hard exam he’s been studying for, for 6 months in a couple of days). With this mentality in mind, this easy gem won for the menu tonight; & I’ll definitely be putting this one into the normal ‘rotation’.
Full of flavor & great balance for a fresh veggie side & yeast rolls! YUMO!

Crunchy Ranch Baked Chicken

3-4 raw chicken breasts (marinated in concentrated chicken bouillon, Tony’s seasoning, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, & herb poultry season)
2 tablespoons of ranch dressing mix
1/2 cup of plain greek yogurt (substituted for mayo or sour cream)
1/4 cup of shredded 4-cheese blend
1/3 cup of Panko crumbs
cooking spray

20130313-211017.jpg

I know that I have mayo pictured & that is only because it’s all that I had when making this dish. I wanted to use greek yogurt in this recipe instead & next time, I definitely will. In my opinion, mayonnaise has too strong of a taste to use in this recipe.

First, after trimming your chicken breasts of all obvious fat, marinate them in some concentrated chicken bouillon, Tony’s Cajun seasoning, oil, & poultry herbs. Chill at least 15 minutes before proceeding. (You of course can omit this step if you aren’t marinade-obsessed the way I am.)

After they were nice & flavorful, I placed the breasts on the bottom of a lightly greased corningware dish.

20130313-211655.jpg

In a small bowl, mix the greek yogurt (or in this one case, mayo), cheese, & ranch seasoning together until blended.

20130313-211830.jpg

Spread this mixture evenly over your chicken. It smells delicious but it’s a little early yet to try. 😉

20130313-211943.jpg

Top this with the panko bread crumbs & lightly spray with your non-stick cooking spray.

Slide this into the oven on 350 for about 25 minutes or until the panko is a golden color & the chicken is cooked through.

20130313-212158.jpg

It is DELICIOUS! Even picky toddler approved. It’s super easy too. I didn’t have to run out to the grocery to come up with the ingredients for this. It was an impromptu ‘I-don’t-really-feel-like-cooking-but-I-don’t-want-anyone-to-starve’ meal. Safe to say everyone was more than satisfied. Eat up!

-Mrs. B

This entry was posted in Main Dish Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment