Mrs. Bird’s Famous Apple Crisp..you do NOT want to skip this one..

Ok, so I am about to do you a serious service in this post today.

I know that I have been procrastinating.

Believe me, the photos of dishes etc are piling up. I have about 15 things in the works that just need to be typed out & posted as of now. I promise I have been keeping up my end of the bargain with my family, I am just slow at sharing them with you.

{my sincerest apologies}

After reading & trying this one, I have much confidence that you will forgive me.

& hopefully so will my sister, who I was supposed to send the recipe to months ago for her to make it for a company party…i can’t come up with a better excuse than the fact that I hadn’t yet written the full recipe out yet. I do this one mostly by memory.

I don’t typically give away many of my sweets recipes since I sell them, but this one is just too good to keep to myself. I have been making this dessert for a decade now (since i was 14 years old) & have been experimenting & working on changing & adjusting this recipe for just that long. I think it is finally ready to be unleashed on the world.

Mrs. Bird’s Apple Crisp

Filling:

8  Granny Smith apples, peeled, pared, & sliced thinly

1 cup of sugar

1 cup of brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

3+3 tablespoons of cornstarch, divided

Crust:

1 1/3 cups of brown sugar

1 cups of flour

1 1/3 cup of dry oats

1 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

2/3 cup of butter, softened

Image

First, lets take care of the crust portion.

Place 1 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 cup of all-purpose flour, 1 1/3 cup dry oats, 1 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, & 2/3 cup butter in a large bowl. Note to self: you will get one hand pretty messy, while mixing this up.

Image

Thats right, use one hand to mix these ingredients until thoroughly combined & set aside.

Now onto the filling.

Peel, core, & slice apples thinly.

Image

Next, mix up the dry ingredients that are included in the filling

(leaving out 3 of the 6 tablespoons of cornstarch needed)

Mix 1 cup of sugar, 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, & 3 tablespoons of cornstarch until combined in a medium-sized bowl.

Place half of this dry mixture in a gallon ziplock bag & then add half of the sliced apples.

Image

Seal and shake the bag to coat the apples.

When combined, place the contents of this bag into a greased 9×13 glass dish.

Repeat this step with the rest of the apples & dry ingredients.

Place the rest of the coated apples in that 9X13 dish.

Image

Next, place the dish in the oven & bake uncovered @ 375 for 15 minutes to soften apples.

Image

After removing from the oven, there will be liquid in the pan that has baked out of the apples. Mix the remaining corn starch (3 tablespoons) with a small amount of this liquid to make a roux in a small bowl. Add a more of the watery liquid from the baking dish to the roux slowly, until it has thinned out, stirring after each liquid addition. Pour the roux back in to the baking dish with the apples & mix gently until it is well incorporated.

Crumble the brown sugar oat topping over the apples until you’ve used it all.

Image

Replace back into the oven, uncovered, and bake about 30 minutes, or until the apples are tender & the crust is golden brown.

This is your finished product:

Image

This is what it should look like when you serve it.

Image

It is a very ‘southern’ dish of me. & my family likes it served with caramel sauce & vanilla ice cream.

Eating this hot concoction with some cold ice cream is one of my favorite things to do.

It really just doesn’t get any better than this.

-Mrs. B

This entry was posted in Dessert Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment